DE DICHTKUNSTKRANT the newspaper for art, poetry and current affairs 2011 – 2016

The Poetry-Art Paper is a free newspaper for art, poetry and current affairs, that was published once a year, over the course of five years, in a tabloid format. Every edition had 16 pages, printed in full colour. Edition of 10 000 copies.

Graphic design: Heleen Schröder

Partners of De Dichtkunstkrant: Poetry International Rotterdam Turing gedichtenwedstrijd Woordnacht stichting Wo Meine Sonne Scheint and RC Art-Fair.

I founded the Dichtkunstkrant in 2011 together with my partner, the poet and lawyer Florimond Wassenaar. It started as a spontaneous response to the hostile government policy and radical budget cuts in the arts. Some politicians had proclaimed that culture is merely a privilege of the left elite.

The newspaper was founded upon on our contrary belief that art (and artists) are fundamental for the functioning of a healthy democratic society. Our goal was to bring art and poetry closer to a broad public and to stimulate the discourse about the significance of poetry and art. Therefore we distributed the newspaper, free of charge, often as a performative act of handing it out, in public locations such as festivals, cafes, libraries and schools, in various cities. The Dichtkunstkrant adopted the format of a daily newspaper, as an ironic statement on the question of the value of art. All contributions from artist and poets reflected on social and political issues. Image and text were equal; they complemented and commented on each other, without being illustrative.

Participating artists, poets and writers 2012 – 2016: Abner Preis, Ana Roelofs, Anna Vegter, Arie van der Ent, Avner Ben Gal, Barbara Pogačnik, Biljana Kanevche, Chris Keulemans, Dan Perjovschi, Daniel Dee, David Bade, David Troch, Dror Karta, Edda Grol, Efrat Zehavi, Erik Bindervoet, Florimond Wasenaar, Frans Fransiscus, Gal Kinan, Gijs Assmann, Gilbert van Drunen, Gil & Moti, Hamid el Kanbouhi, Han Hoogerbrugge, Itamar Burstein, Jana Beranová, Jante Wortel, Joost Veerkamp, Justin Wijers, Kiki Petratou, Kim Hospers, Klaas Koetje, Laurens Hoevenaren, Leen Pil, Maarten van der Graaff, Maria Barnas, Marit Shalem, Marianne Peijnenburg, Marije de Wit, Martijn Benders, Marie Civikov, Matthias Pauwels, Merlotte Snavelpaard, Menno Wigman, Nick J. Swarth, Nour-Eddine Jarram, Olphaert Den Otter, Ondine de Kroon, Pam Emmerik, Paul van der Eerden, Peggy Verzett, Peter J. Maltz, Peter Mangel Schots, Peter Swanborn, Roee Rosen, Rolf Engelen, Ronald Ophuis, Shahar Golan Sarig, Steven Graauwmans, Thomas Möhlmann, Walter Gerritsen van der Hoop, Wibo Kosters.

Reacties zijn gesloten.